Quick Answer: Which Of The Following Is Exempt From Federal Fair Housing Under Mrs Murphy’S Exemption?

What are the 7 federal protected classes?

What are the protected classes.

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability..

Which conditions are protected by disability in the federal Fair Housing Act?

Discrimination in Housing Based Upon Disability The term mental or physical impairment may include conditions such as blindness, hearing impairment, mobility impairment, HIV infection, mental retardation, alcoholism, drug addiction, chronic fatigue, learning disability, head injury, and mental illness.

What is special about housing for older persons?

The Act contained a provision exempting “senior” housing from the prohibition against familial status discrimination. … It eliminated the requirement that housing for older persons have significant services and facilities specifically designed for its elderly residents.

When sale or rental of a single family home is exempt from the federal Fair Housing Act?

An exemption to the Federal Fair Housing Act for an owner-occupied dwelling of four units or less provided the owner occupies one unit, does not use discriminatory advertising, and does not use a real estate agent.

What does the federal Fair Housing Act prohibit?

It is illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing, including against individuals seeking a mortgage or housing assistance, or in other housing-related activities. The Fair Housing Act prohibits this discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability.

Who does the Fair Housing Act apply to?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) is the primary law that protects the rights of tenants across the U.S. Since it’s a federal law, it applies in all the 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. Under the FHA jurisdiction, the law applies to almost all housing situations.

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1988?

Like most important pieces of Federal legislation, the Fair Housing Act and the 1988 Amendments Act embody a series of careful compromises crafted by members of Congress. … The Act made it illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing on the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin.

Does the Fair Housing Amendment Act define occupancy limits?

Fair Housing Act Changes In 1988 Because familial status is a protected class, any occupancy limits put into place must consider what type of reasonable family living situations should be allowed regardless of the generalized guidelines for occupancy standards.

Can you live in a 55 community if you are younger?

Yes! This is referring to the 1995 Housing for Older Persons Act, or HOPA. Under this act, once 80 percent of the units are occupied by at least one person over the age of 55, communities are allowed to adjust their age requirements.

Which housing is exempt from the familial status protection under the Fair Housing Act?

A community qualifies as housing for older persons and is exempt from the prohibition against familial status discrimination if: 1) HUD has determined that it is specifically designed for and occupied by elderly persons under a federal, state or local government program; 2) it is 100% occupied by persons 62 or older; …

Is senior housing exempt under federal fair housing?

The Fair Housing Act protects all residents from discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, handicap or familial status. Senior housing facilities and communities are exempt from liability for familial status discrimination under HOPA.

What is familial status in Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) bans discrimination based on certain protected classes, including “familial status,” which refers to the presence of at least one child under 18 years old.

Which of the following is an exception to the Fair Housing Act?

Yes, there are four important exceptions to the Fair Housing Act: Single family homes, as long as the home is also rented or sold by the owner, the owner does not own more than 3 such homes at a time, the advertising for the sale or rental was not discriminatory, and the owner did not use a real estate agent or broker.

Who is exempt from the federal Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In very limited circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family houses sold or rented by the owner without the use of an agent, and housing operated by religious organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

Which one of the following private property owners is exempt from federal fair housing laws?

Single-family homes rented without the use of a real estate agent or advertising are exempt from the federal Fair Housing Act as long as the private landlord/owner doesn’t own more than three homes at the time. Apartments of four units or less are also exempt if the owner lives in one of the units.